Favorite Horror Films 

   
I am horror obsessed. Nothing grips me to the tv or a book more than a spooky ghost or a good exorcism. 

Today I thought I would share with you 5 of my favourite horror films of all time, just incase you fancy a spooky night in before Halloween. 

  
So, let’s get started:

Tale of two sisters (2003, Kim Jee-Woon)This South Korean film is a recent film for me. It is subtitled- but don’t let that put you off. 

The plot follows two sisters who have just arrived home after a stay in a mental institution. Not long after arriving increasingly disturbing events start happening between them and their step mother who they are not fans of. 

It is quite a long and complex film. I had to watch it twice to fully understand all aspects. I don’t want to give much away as it really is worth a watch. It really is creepy. Korea really is amazing at making horror films. 

Misery (1991, Rob Reiner) Originally a novel by Stephen King. This film probably has one of the scariest psychopaths in the form of crazed fan Annie Wilkes. Perhaps not a horror but truly shiver worthy.

When author Paul Sheldon is in a car crash he awakes not in a hospital but in the home and “loving” care of biggest fan Mrs Wilkes who tries to heal his horrifically broken legs with butcher like tactics and a whole lot of drugs. The book was so suspenseful and terrifying I couldn’t put it down. The film, though it changes some of the what I thought, major scenes of the book is still amazing. Kathy Bates as Annie Wilkes was spectacular and her crazed role should have won an Oscar. 

Shutters (2008 Masayuki Ochiai) This  is the American remake of the Thai Film of the same name. I admit I haven’t watched the original – let me know if I should. I know this film had or of negative reviews but the ending has stuck with me for being one of the creepiest ideas ever. 

When photographer Ben Shaw and his new wife go travelling then hit and run over a girl. Upon investigating, they see no body and no blood, deciding to carry on. Around this time Ben starts struggling with shoulder pain and bad posture which people become increasingly aware of as well as this strange things start happening…

I really like the film. I thought it was really spooky and the ending really made me cringe. For the ending alone this film made it into my top 5. 

Silence of the lambs (1991, Jonathan Demme) In fact the whole Hannibal trilogy. Anthony Hopkins was pure genius – he was made for this role. This film follows detective Clarice Starling who is asked to interview imprisoned psychiatrist and former cannibal Hannibal about one of his patients, and suspected killer, Known to the case as Buffalo Bill. 

Let’s just say Buffalo Bill is one messed up dude. A whole lot more happens in this film than described just. But to be honest if you haven’t seen this film – where have you been? 

The Conjuring (2013, James Wan) My final favourite. Can’t wait for number 2 this year! 

When the Perron Family move into there dream house, they think nothing atall could go wrong. Shock horror when it does! 

Paranormal investigators, haunted house, evil ghosts and exorcism. My favourite combos! Simple and often used plot but I think this is probably the film that does it best. Hooray for more! 
Please do let me know what horror films you love! Give me something to watch! 

I hope you go and watch one of these if you haven’t already. Let me know what you think!
Terri

x

4 thoughts on “Favorite Horror Films 

  1. some of these i havent heard of. thanks. i will watch them. there is one called the sick house and another one called the visitant. idk if these would be on my all time fa uorite list but definately worth watching if you havent seen them before. you can watch them on youtube. as for my all time favorites, im really not sure what that would be. but misery would definately be on my list somewhere!! great film worth watching over and over again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I’ve watched either of those – thank you! I will definitely watch these, i love finding out about ones I haven’t seen before! Thank you for your lovely comment xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

