Sunday Riley’s Luna

In the skincare industry there are certain names and brands that stand out. The ones that are talked about as skin saviours, the ones in every fashion magazine. Sunday Riley is one of them. 
I’m a huge skincare fan, and ummed and arred about purchasing two products from hers for a long time and decided to take the plunge around 3 months ago now. I chose Luna Sleeping Oil £85 and daily oil Juno hydroactive cellular facial oil £70.

Though the latter is a nice oil and helps keep my skin hydrated and glowy throughout the day Luna is the one that changed my skin not better, but the best it’s ever been since my early teens thus the one I’m going to talk about. 

Now this product seems to be a miracle worker or a acne nightmare for some. My skincare being product plenty and working wonders for a long time now I thought that I would be able to monitor its effects and deduce that if I broke out, it would be because of the newly added product. I can safely say that this had negative effect on my skin at all.  

I use 4-6 drops of around 4 times a week. After cleansing and toning allowing my face to fully dry before applying. I tend to keep my skincare a little simpler on these days to get the full effect. A little goes a long way and it will last a fair while. Now on to the product. 

The product description says: 

“A next-generation retinoid oil to reduce pore size, improve appearance of damaged skin and help fight wrinkles. 

With an advance retinol complex, Luna helps reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles while simultaneously correcting damage caused by the sun, time, and pollution. Use this oil before bed to notice firmer, clearer skin by morning. Trans-retinol ester fights the look of fine lines, wrinkles, and loss of skin elasticity while an essential oil complex calms and soothes skin. Cold pressed avocado, chia, and Concord grape seed oils sink into skin for quick absorption of actives while boosting radiance.”


This royal blue Oil minimised my pores from night one. My pores now months down the line are so much smaller, my skin texture the smoothest it’s ever been and improving by the day. Little scars from previous acne are fading and filling back out. 3 months down the line my skin looks plumper and no longer wakes up with pillow lines. Though I have no real wrinkles yet being young, my natural expression lines are less prominent. Any breakouts I have heal in half the time.

Retinoids can cause dryness and peeling in skin, this is part of their natural process, after a short while the peeling stops. Just continue with you AHA or BHA exfoliators, depending on skin type and moisturise well. I personally very little peeling, this may be due to my skin not being as sensitive to the product as others. I am glad for this. If you experience minor peeling, keep going don’t stop. It’s very much like a purging process, removing dry and damaged skin. 

Though I adore this product there are a few minor things I dislike about the product. The first and most important being the use of blue dye in the product. Though it doesn’t stain the skin, I feel its unnessasary and could be the reason some peoples skin break out. It’s purely to make it look pretty reinforce the blue tansy in the product? I also hate the smell, its quite a strong smell, very much a spa scent, I can live with it but I’m not keen haha! The same with Juno, in fact I probably dislike Juno’s scent even more. 

If you can afford the fairly pricey price tag, from my experience I couldn’t recommend it enough. I really do think that this product has changed my skin for the absolute better. I’ve had products that I’ve had effects on scaring and pores before, but nothing like this. A must try! A definite repurchase. 
Terri

X

Leave a Reply

